The most colorful nation
Colorful is culture, nature, tradition and religion.

About 80% of the land surface of Suriname, the beating heart of the Amazon, is covered with tropical rainforest.

The borders of Suriname consist of borders with three countries: Guyana in the West, French Guiana in the East and Brazil in the South, and in the North with the Atlantic Ocean. Suriname is the only Dutch speaking country on the continent of South America. On November 25th in 1975, it became independent after being a colony for almost 4 centuries of the Netherlands. The current president is Chandrikapersad Santokhi (2020 – 2025)

Awesome Image
Location 4°00°N56°W
Land surface 163,820 km2 (63,037sq miles)
Inhabitants 579,633 (Juli 2015)
Capital Paramaribo
Demographics Hindustani, Creole, Javanese, Maroons, Indigenous, Chinese, Lebanese, European
Languages Dutch, Sranang Tongo, Sarnami Hindi and Javanese. English is widely understood and spoken in hotels and stores and also the second language in the trade industry.
Religion Hinduism, Islam, Roman Catholic, Reformed Congregation, Morevians, Judism and Indigenous beliefs (wintie and sjamanism).
Climate Suriname has a tropical climate, which according to the Köppen-Geiger climate classification can be divided into three different types. The northern half of Suriname has a tropical rainforest climate (type Af). The southern half, with the exception of the Kayser Mountains, the Wilhelmina Mountains and the Orange Mountains, has a tropical monsoon climate (type Am). The mountain areas in the south of Suriname have a tropical savanna climate (type Aw):
Minor rainy season – December, January
Minor dry season – February, March, April
Major rainy season – May till mid Augustus
Major dry season – mid Augustus till November
Temperature Between 18°C and 35°C. Average temperature is 28°C (82.4° F)
Currency Since January 1st, 2004 the Suriname Dollar (SRD) was introduced as official currenct. US Dollars (US$) and Euro (€) are also accepted.
Country code 597
Time Zone UTC – 3
National Holidays Fixed holidays
01 January (New Year’s Day)
01 May (Labor Day)
01 July (Emancipation Day)
09 Augustus (Indigenous Day)
10 October (Maroon Day)
25 November (Independence)
25 December (1st Christmas)
26 December (2nd Christmas)
Variable holidays (2022)
01 February (Chinese New Year)
18 March (Phagwa/ Holi)
15 April (Good Friday)
17 April (1st Easter)
18 April (2nd Easter)
02 May (Idul Fitr)
09 July (Idul Adha)
24 October (Divali)

Our website is still in progress, please be patient and thank you for understanding.